The Woman behind the Words~ The Poet and her Book

I am honored to present to you a woman of many talents. A poet that draws you in with her well crafted words to remind you of the realities, the social outcries of injustice, the stripping of earth. She carries you to the wall to face the truths of your consumption leaving you in deep thought. She  handles it all with the gentle hands of a mother, a loving sister, a true heart of gold. I bring you an up close interview of one of our own, a woman I cherish as a close friend, Natasha Head.

Next month, Natasha’s first solo publication, “Nothing Left to Lose” will be released by Winter Goose Publishing. A book inspired by the hardships life throws along ones path and the decision to rise above and make the necessary changes. A topic many can relate too in today’s economic hardships. A book not to be missed.

Many of us know Natasha through the pages of The Tashtoo Parlour, her work here at The River, or through dVerse. Most likely you know her from the twittering world and of course we cannot forget Facebook. But who is this busy woman that juggles her online responsibilities with a full life in her everyday world of mother, wife, and real estate agent? Let us find out.

River: Natasha, how would you describe the town in Nova Scotia you live in? What keeps you there?

Natasha: I live in a small town, surrounded by small towns. It is old homes and a church on every corner. If the folks don’t know you, you can bet they know your father, and if they don’t like you, they hide it well. My family. We’ve just celebrated our 35 year in business and we are what most would say is an abnormally close bunch. Drive’s my poor husband crazy by times…but I’m loyal to a fault and they’ve got first dibbs

A day in the life of Natasha: What is a Monday like for you? A Saturday?
Monday’s can be stressful…but I think we’ve been conditioned to expect them to be stressful.  The real world job of real estate sales and brokerage means Monday is the day you get to handle the paperwork for the deals that were put together over the weekend. It’s lawyers, lenders, appraisers, and then the clients.  Saturday’s, if I don’t have appointments, are my favorite days. It’s a day of writing, reading, doodling…therapy through crayons and bic pens!
You are a very busy woman. How do you keep your sanity? What do you do to relax?
Writing is how I relax. It’s almost shameful the way I am able to zone out the every day when I grab my pen. I have volumes of prattle that is just me venting, that will never see the light of day. And my music…I’ve always been about my music. Blast something hard and crunchie…and just write it out!
When did you begin to write?
Honestly…for as long as I can remember.  Even before I could spell the words. I received honorable mention in my first writing contest when I was 10. That was the year my Dad gave me a journal for my birthday and I wrote my first “official” poem. 

What inspires you to write poetry?
A blank page. It just begs to be filled. I’m a notebook hoarder. I still literally “write” my pieces. I think emotions drive it…when I’m angry, confused, hurt.  Believe it or not, I’ve a terrible time expressing myself out loud. I bumble and stumble over the words. Writing lets me work it out BEFORE I give it a voice.
Where do you write? Do you need it quite?
I have my blue room, which has just seen the addition of a fly tying corner for Hubby…so no, I don’t need it quiet. I have learned to adjust my notebook and pen to life. Many of my poems get penned wrapped up in my blanket with the tv blaring. That’s not to say I don’t totally love those afternoons when I get the house to myself.  Mind you, the tunes are no doubt cranking.


When did you enter the blogging world of poetry?

Poetry blogging evolved from article writing. My second year is just getting underway. As much as I love poetry, it never dawned on me that there could be an entire blogging community. I owe that discovery to twitter and Onestop Poetry.  Without them, my blog would still consist of tips and tricks to home buying and selling.

Is there a difference between publishing online and being published in a book to you?
Not so much to me…although it does lend some legitimacy to the word addiction.  To those who are in the dark regarding poetry and the communities available, it’s a very big deal.  Since I’ve been able to announce Winter Goose Publishing taking a risk on me, the interest in my writing, especially amongst friends and family, has peaked a bit.  But in the end…it is “just poetry” (she smiles sarcastically)
what inspired the theme of “Nothing Left to Loose”?
Two and a half very rough years in the “real word” I was at my lowest and the words helped me crawl my way back. Financially, the hardships we we’re facing were immense, I had to deal with the closing of a business, and suddenly not being able to handle a lifestyle we had become accustomed to. My writing led me to some tough choices..and many of them are shared in the book.  I think folks who read it will walk away with a different vibe for me.  The thought makes me a bit nervous. I share much throughout the book that a lot of people think shouldn’t be shared. But you put it out there and hope it’s well received.
What is your favorite poem in the book? What inspired you to write it?
MY favorite poem is one many will be familiar with…but it is also the one that helped me find the courage to travel down this road with my words.  Creators was written at the height of the rough patch. It came as the result of the realization that in order to live my life as a true creator, then I was going to have to let go of the stuff everyone else seemed to think I needed. If you scroll way back through my blog archives, you find where this piece first made its appearance…and it is the piece I run to when I start to doubt what I’m doing here…I would like to think it might become an anchor for others who are daring this journey.
Creators
by Natasha

In your book you reveal parts of yourself that few in the cyber community know. If you were to let one more unknown fact of yourself out of the hat that speaks of you, the woman that few know what would it be?

I am an absolute metal head! I’ve got passion for all types of music…but, those rare cases when I get the house to myself…I turn my living room into a mosh pit…no crowd surfing (too hard on the pets). Friends from my past are WELL aware of this little tidbit…but I’ve a feeling
there are a few about who might get a kick out of this.

Thank you Natasha. It has been wonderful to learn about the woman behind the words, the poet and her book.  Let us end with a quote you feel best describes the way you live your life?

At this point in the game…I’m all about Apple’s Think Different campaign. Throwing back to 97 when they proclaimed…. Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes.The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them.About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They invent. They imagine. They heal. They explore. They create. They inspire. They push the human race forward.Maybe they have to be crazy.How else can you stare at an empty canvas and see a work of art? Or sit in silence and hear a song that’s never been written? Or gaze at a red planet and see a laboratory on wheels?We make tools for these kinds of people.While some see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do. <

Tashtoo Parlour - poetry & other writings and art
Winter Goose Publications - 
9 thoughts on “The Woman behind the Words~ The Poet and her Book

  1. (screaming with excitement for this fantabulous poet!!!). I love ya, girl!!! What makes a good poet great? Enthusiasm, charisma, passion, someone with a humble and generous heart – Natasha is all of these plus more. Can’t wait to get my hands on her book!

  2. boo yah…tash is a brilliant mind…and a huge heart willing to give…and just a wonderful person…oh yeah and a heck of a poet…the fact that she is a metal head makes her all the more…smiles….def looking forward to her book….

  3. Wonderful to know you a little more. And I love your reading of your poem “Creators.” You do have a way of inspiring with your words.

    I too feel more comfortable getting my ideas, thoughts across via the written word. I’m not always so smooth in my speaking either. And I have a part of me that’s not quite a metal head, but I do have a thing for hard sounds. My step-son has a death metal band and he rages against the machine, too.

We would love to hear your thoughts :)

