Opininon ~ People are Strange

I watch my adolescent daughter and her friends dressing and acting the same. I listen to their conversations about other girls, the ones that are not their friends, and how they put down difference. I throw in my two cents about judging others and that we are all different in our own ways only to receive eye rolls and “you don’t understand mom.” “But I do,” I want to scream. “I grew up too and it’s still around me today.” Grouping behavior continues into adulthood. It is all over the media and is felt by the pressures from family friends, and co-workers. People want to be like the group whatever that group may be. They do not want to be considered an outsider and be pointed at or shunned. Even when people choose to dress and act, different then the mainstream, they usually find a group that is like them in dress, behavior, or attitude. I can think back to when I was fourteen trying to find myself. I hated the pressures from my peers to be the same as everyone else so I went against it. I came back to school in the fall all punked out in black. I was the only funky dresser in my grade but I had friends older that were the same as me if not in dress they were in attitude. We all wanted to be different then what we were told to be by the society. I had a group. I was not alone in school either. Yes, the so-called cool kids and want to be cool thought I was very weird but there were smaller groups that were on the outside already for different reasons. They knew I was the same likeable person even though I dressed different. Actually, if I think about it all my peers and I all had one thing in common. We were all searching some way or another for our individualism amongst the layers of groups. People in all groups, no matter how hard they try to be like everyone else, have their own behaviors and idiosyncrasies. That is what makes us individuals. We are all different. People are all strange in their own ways.

One thought on “Opininon ~ People are Strange

  1. “People in all groups, no matter how hard they try to be like everyone else, have their own behaviors and idiosyncrasies. We are all different. People are all strange in their own ways.” This is so very true, and the more we celebrate our individuality and uniqueness the more it adds to the whole of our species. There will come a time when all are encouraged to express who they are, and our species will once again becomes vibrant and alive, and a Renaissance for humankind will be generated. It is time for a Renaissance! Nicely done! Thank you for sharing your wisdom! Roger ☺

We would love to hear your thoughts :)

