Poetry by Annie Brodrick

breathe

in a daydream I find..
my arms no longer flesh color
they are feathered black
with oil spot rainbows glinting in the sun
sinewy and muscular
strong yet fragile
legs are weak, they stumble as I walk
so instead I extend my wings
feeling the breeze, testing it
the wind picks up and I am lifted
seemingly without effort
carried aloft, light and free
airborne with the wings of spirit
that I joyfully rediscover within myself

I’ve often wondered..
what it would be like to be an angel
with my focus solely heavenward
this is not my reality
my spirit is fastened to this earth
attached to those I love
family and friends fill my mind, my heart
to be more accurate
I should rather be a faerie
a feral creature surrounded by greenwood
flightless as a majestic oak tree with
roots that reach ever deeper for nourishment
and limbs reaching skyward
seeking space to breathe

Annie lives with her husband in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. At the age of 30, she ran off to join a Renaissance Faire and spent the next 18 years trying to convince her family that it wasn’t the circus.  Annie has been writing poetry and short stories since her early 20’s. In her own words Annie explains, “My heart beats and so I write.” More of Annie’s work can be found on facebook.
12 thoughts on “Poetry by Annie Brodrick

  1. Annie, we love you so! I enjoy reading your words every single day! Never fail. You are such a light! Thank you! XOXOXO

  2. You are Welcome Annie. 🙂

    In the first part of your poem I imagined a bird preparing for flight. I was surprised you were speaking of an angel for the same reason you mention I feel you to the earth. Then you bring in fairies and I am delighted by the images that arise. I am one of those adults that truly believes in fairies, in a realm existing parallel to ours with doors between the two. Thanks I needed that. 🙂

  3. I should rather be a faerie
    a feral creature surrounded by greenwood
    flightless as a majestic oak tree with
    roots that reach ever deeper for nourishment
    and limbs reaching skyward
    seeking space to breathe

    Your poem is beautiful Annie. The last three lines above say exactly how I feel about my life but haven’t been able to express as succintly or beautifully as you have.

We would love to hear your thoughts :)

